Typical

Earlier this year, I went to my life drawing class with a bunch of different materials, including watercolour pencils. I had done a few sketches with watercolour pencils and quite liked the effects I was getting, so I planned to explore them further.

The teacher, seeing the box, mentioned that she wasn’t a fan of watercolour pencils.

She’s a respected artist. She shows her work in galleries. I (as I tell myself) am nobody.

So I put the pencils away and didn’t touch them again until now.

But here’s the thing. I like the effects I get with them, even if she doesn’t. Her opinion is just that – an opinion. And it’s no more valid than mine.

I get that now. So here is a selfie done in watercolour pencil. Sorry Helen … except I’m not really 🙂

IMG_4150.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Typical

  1. thebigshedart

    Well done you. I just treated myself to some Albrecht Durer watercolour pencils. I don’t have your mastery, but I plan to have a play with them. I think it’s sad if your teacher feels she has to limit herself in what materials she uses.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

