Unfinished Thought

I called yesterday’s post “My Goal for the Last Month” but then I never really finished the thought.

I have 28 days left of this 365-day selfie challenge. 28 days left to do something meaningful for myself.

And what I’ve decided to do – or at least decided to try to do – is to put myself first.

What I mean by that is that I am going to think about what is good for me, rather than what I think I am good enough for. And I’m going to consider my own needs as important, not something to be considered once everyone else’s needs have been met.

If I think about entering an art exhibition, the question shouldn’t be “am I good enough to be accepted?” The question should be “Is this somewhere I want to show my work?”

The same applies to people and situations I find myself in. I don’t have to approach everything as a supplicant. I don’t have to just take what I’m given. I can state my needs, my wishes, my goals – and I can be confident about them. They’re as important as anyone else’s, even if it doesn’t always feel that way inside my head. And if people don’t understand, well, that’s fine. There are lots of things other people do that I don’t understand.

So for this month, I’m going to work on just being me. Honestly and unapologetically me.

IMG_4088.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Unfinished Thought

Leave a Reply

