Maybe I’m Not Supposed to Have it Together …

“Together” is today’s one-word prompt from WordPress.

My first thought was “I used to have it together.”

My second was: “Maybe I’m not supposed to have it together just now.”

It’s this book I’ve been reading about Acceptance and Commitment Therapy. It’s making me look at things differently. It’s making me see that chasing that fleeting feeling of happiness sets us up for constant failure.

If, instead of fighting unhappiness, we simply accept it as a reality of our current life, we are then free to move forward. That’s the acceptance part. The commitment part refers to a commitment to living to our values. So if I value caring for animals, for example, I should look for ways to do that as often as possible. And if I value my family, I should look for ways to connect with them and care for them as much as possible. And if I value caring for people in need, I should seek out ways to do that.

In this way, the author argues, we can live a fulfilling life despite tragedies, losses, sadnesses, longings etc. etc. I take real strength from that idea.

IMG_3445.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

