Values

Getting a dog, joining the gym and starting yoga were important steps for me in getting my life back. I see now that they actually align with the idea behind the book I’m reading (The Happiness Trap) which is about accepting pain as an inevitable part of life and then getting on with building a fulfilling life anyway. The author suggests that we do this by taking actions that align with our personal values.

I wanted to be healthier and I wanted to help an animal in need, so all these actions are in line with my values. What’s more, they have taken me out of my own head (I don’t have time to dwell!) and I have lost 4 lbs in 3 weeks between the gym and walking the dog/playing with the dog. All good so far …. except one of my values is also to make art and I just don’t have any time (because of the dog and the gym!)

I have to figure this out because my art career is going nowhere if I can’t create new work.

IMG_3429.jpg

 

One thought on “Values

  1. Kristy Brenner

    Well, clearly something has to go. Like cleaning toilets, dusting, cooking (unless you love it), you know…doing what you’re “supposed” to do. I’m coming to understand why artists are thought of as “disreputable.” Some things simply have to go to fit all the art in that you need!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

