Father’s Day

Spent the day with my aging father-in-law. We visited his wife in the care home (she has Alzheimers) and two different old ladies asked me if I was a nurse. One was insistent that I call the police and, after my husband had guided her to a chair in the lounge, she wouldn’t let go of my hand. She told me “I have 3 children you know and they’ve been very good to me but I suddenly got a lot worse…” before trailing off into confusion and more requests for the police. So sad and a poignant reminder that I shouldn’t spend so much time dwelling on the negative.

Tonight it is rainy and chilly. The heating has gone back on and I’m painting a cow.

This is the cow

IMG_2548

This is me 🙂

IMG_2552.jpg

6 thoughts on “Father’s Day

  1. barbara

    Louise, I am one (probably of many) who reads your posts and looks at your self portraits every day. I feel empathy and sympathy and somehow have an emotional investment in your well-being, even though we live thousands of miles from each other. I admire what you are doing, and wish you peace and strength, all the way from California. Do you really receive replies when it says, reply by responding above this line? We will see. Until later, Barbara

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    Reply
    1. Louise Post author

      Hi Barbara, I do receive replies – they are posted as comments here on the site – and I so appreciate them. Thank you for reading and looking and for sending your support. It means so much 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

