Being Gentle

IMG_2326

I’ve been learning so much since my revelation in therapy last week. I’m devouring articles and books and finally – finally – understanding that my insecurities and fears are perfectly understandable as a direct result of things that happened a long time ago.

It’s as though a huge weight has been lifted. I am not defective.

There is nothing wrong with me.

Of course the people who love me have told me that forever, but it can’t penetrate if you believe, deep down, that they are wrong.

Now I know they are right and everything has changed.

I am seeing myself and others with true compassion, maybe for the first time. I have always thought of myself as a compassionate person, but now I realize that I was good at being compassionate about strangers, but less good at feeling compassion for those whose lives affected mine. Because I was so caught up in my own fears and insecurities, those closest to me were often viewed through that prism.

Now that I am giving myself a break, I find I’m able to give others a break too. I’m able to see them as they are – individuals with their own issues, hang-ups, insecurities, fears, strengths and weaknesses – all of which are nothing to do with me.

For someone who has spent her whole life feeling responsible for everyone else’s emotional state, this is a HUGE relief. I have smiled more over the last few days than I have in a long time.

And, even more important … I have finally been inspired to start painting more than just selfies and life drawings. Today I went out for a walk and passed some beautiful cows. Tonight, I started a painting of one of them. It’s been a long time, but I think maybe I’m on my way back!

IMG_2323

The selfie (that’s the first painting!) is number 151 in a 356-day series. You can see the others here.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Being Gentle

  1. Kim Tecca

    Louise, I find your journey of self-exploration to be so wise. I love this post and that you are smiling again and have renewed inspiration. Your art always grabs me in some special way.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Lynn Cohen

    I’m so very glad you found a good therapist to help you See and Understand! This is all so good to hear! Keep being gentle and accepting of yourself!
    Happy to see a new cow!
    One of your huge cow fans,
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply
  3. Gerda Wolzak-van Hummel

    It is good to read you found your way and hope you are smiling again when you are painting your cows.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

