The Pursuit of Happiness

That’s what I’ve decided to focus on.

I believe that most happiness – and most misery – is the result of our thoughts.

Or as Shakespeare put it:

There is nothing either good or bad but thinking makes it so.

Things are what they are. What we think about those things is what creates our mood.

I focus too much on the stuff that isn’t how I want it, and not enough on the stuff that’s right just as it is. And what’s more, I don’t acknowledge often enough that I actually don’t know how things should be. Maybe that thing I want is the worst possible thing that could happen. Who knows?

Or, as Socrates said:

“If you don’t get what you want, you suffer; if you get what you don’t want, you suffer; even when you get exactly what you want, you still suffer because you can’t hold on to it forever. Your mind is your predicament. It wants to be free of change. Free of pain, free of the obligations of life and death. But change is law and no amount of pretending will alter that reality.”

Nothing I am experiencing is new. Greater minds than mine have already recognised and understood depression and anxiety and stress and the way it feels when things just don’t seem to be going your way.

I plan to spend time learning from those minds – as many of them as I can. And I will share what I learn, in case it helps anyone else.

IMG_2217

 

 

Leave a Reply

