Fortified

I went out for drinks last night with my oldest friend Judith.

No-one makes me feel better.

We’ve been friends since we were 14 and we were “besties” during our most formative years. But then we lost touch for over 20 years.

Hard to fathom that now, because we are as close as ever. When I came home, we picked up as though no time had passed, and I am so grateful for that.

Because no-one understands me as well as Judith and no-one picks me up the way she does. She can make me laugh at myself even in the darkest times, and she sees the very best in me, even when I only see the worst.

I think today’s portrait shows the effect those few hours had on me last night … I feel fortified.

IMG_2202

 

Leave a Reply

