Tired

I worked in the garden all day today, something I rarely get the chance to do.

Because I live almost entirely in my head – which is full of fantasies, daydreams, and (mostly) worry and stress –  I get real joy from activities that ground me in “stuff” – the smell and feel of soil in the garden, the sensation of flour on my hands when I’m baking. These things work like medication for me. Instead of living in the past or the future, I get to spend time in the present moment. I get to experience the stuff that’s actually happening rather than stuff that happened in the past, or that I worry might happen in the future. Plus, I happen to live in one of the most beautiful places in the world, so the pleasure of gardening is heightened by my surroundings.

So tonight every part of me aches and my hands are dry, but I feel as if I truly lived, because I experienced every moment with all my senses.

A good day and something to keep in mind as I work towards making a happier life.

IMG_2164.jpg

One thought on “Tired

Leave a Reply

