Half a Face

I’m becoming a little bored with the same face looking back at me from the mirror, so tonight, I just drew half of it.

IMG_2065

Since starting this project, I’ve thought about self-care more than I ever have.

I’ve started to eat well. I’ve cut down on alcohol. I’m walking more.

And now I’m taking note of the things that make me happy (and the things that don’t.)

Gardening is a true joy and now that Spring is here, I can devote more time to it.

And painting, when I get in the swing, does the same thing. Tonight my regular life drawing class re-started after Easter, and I enjoyed every second, despite the fact that I really didn’t want to go.

So, art and gardening make me happy. Now that I know that, how can I make more time for both?

2 thoughts on “Half a Face

  1. wedgroup, Nellie

    You have been faithful to your face for a long time! When I undertook a similar project… At some point I expanded my definition of self portrait. I identify with my hair and one night drew my hairbrush, another night my favorite chair. You might consider a different view of self. Ilovefollowing your brave and authentic pursuit. Kudos to ya!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Louise Post author

      Thanks so much 🙂 I have thought about expanding, but for now, for some reason, I feel I must stick with my face. It may change!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

