Progress Isn’t Linear

I’ve been working on losing weight and for the first 8 weeks, I consistently lost a pound or two. Until this week, when I gained a pound.

Once upon a time I would have been thrown by that, probably said ‘sod it’ opened a box of chocolates. But I know now that progress isn’t linear. I’ve learned it over this last few months as I tried to find my equilibrium.

A string of good days is always followed by a setback.  But it’s what you do with the setback that counts. Do you see it as what it is – a temporary hiccup – or do you view it as much more, as something that defines you going forward?

I choose to see this as a hiccup.

IMG_2059 (1)

 

2 thoughts on “Progress Isn’t Linear

Leave a Reply

