Lessons So Far

Taking on a 365-day drawing challenge is not for the faint-hearted. I’m on day 98 now and it is sometimes hard. There are days where I’m tired, or uninspired, and many, many days when I lack the free time.

But I’ve kept to it anyway, and I plan to keep going, because – while the benefits haven’t been the ones I expected – there have been benefits.

I don’t think I’ve made any creative leaps – in fact many of my drawings have been less than I would like – but personally, I feel myself changing.

I normally don’t pay attention to myself. I worry about everyone else. I put myself last. Forcing myself to look in the mirror every day, and draw what I see has forced me to change that. I do think about myself. I do pay more attention. And paying attention has made me to realize that I am too hard on myself.

Once I tuned in to the self-talk in my head, I realized it needed to change. Who wants to hear a nagging, negative, hectoring voice every day? If I was married to a person like that, I’d want to leave. If I was friends with a person like that, I’d try to avoid their phone calls.

And so I decided to argue back when that voice started up. And once I started doing that, things began to change. I’m going out for walks again. I’m eating healthily (and I’ve lost all the weight I had gained as a result). And I’m spending more time being grateful for the many blessings I have, and less time focusing on the negatives.

I’m not claiming perfection, or that this project has turned me into a new person. But it has definitely turned me into a happier person. Or at least, into a person who can see glimpses of the possibility of happiness …. and I wouldn’t have thought that possible in January.

IMG_2048

This is day 98 of a 365-day selfie project. You can see them all here.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Lessons So Far

  1. Kathleen Pio

    Love what you wrote…and the expression on your face seems peaceful and kind…compare it to the first one you started.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

