Emerging

It’s difficult to write about how I’m feeling these days, because there are things I’m not comfortable writing about. I don’t mean to sound coy or mysterious and I hope it doesn’t sound that way. I am doing my best.

I started this selfie project as a way to dig myself out of an emotional trough. I felt that if I spent time with myself for at least half an hour a day, I’d be forced to pay attention to myself in a way that I haven’t in a long time.

And it seems to be working. I am caring for myself in a way I haven’t before. And I’m thinking about myself (and my relationships with others) in new ways that are starting to surprise me.

I would have called this selfish in the past, but now I see that I was wrong. This feels like a very important journey for me and I see the progress I’ve made so far. I’m not there yet, but I am at least on my way. When I painted tonight’s selfie, the word ’emerging’ came to mind.

IMG_1988

 

Leave a Reply

