Art Shopping

I painted today’s portrait on some new paper I bought.

My local town has a small art shop, for which I am very grateful. But ‘small’ really is the operative word. Today we drove into Manchester to visit two big stores I had heard about, but never seen.

For those in other countries, Manchester is Britain’s second or third city (depending who you ask). It’s a big, busy, cosmopolitan place with a thriving cultural scene, so it’s the perfect place to go for art supplies.

And oh my, the second shop we went to was amazing. I could have spent all day in there, just rolling around in paper and rubbing paint tubes all over my arms! Unbelievable. I came away £84 poorer, but it could have been much, much worse if I hadn’t exercised some restraint.

My best buy were two handmade pads of Indian watercolour paper. I just keep taking them out and stroking them.

But I also cut one page into smaller pieces and used one of them for this portrait. The watercolour soaked in a little more than I’d like, so I may need to get used to it. But even if I never do, I’ll still love those pads of paper, because they are so beautiful!

IMG_1943

Leave a Reply

