No Filter

I drew this portrait without looking at the paper and I love it.

IMG_1929.jpg

I always find these ‘blind’ drawings have an honesty that my ‘sighted’ drawings don’t. They also have a clear, confident line – something that my regular drawings lack.

It makes me think about how I am in real life.

Very few people ever see the real me – and then only very occasionally. Mostly I lay filters over myself. And what’s more, I am tentative, unsure, unclear … just like the lines in much of my work.

If I could learn to let go in my life the way I let go in these blind drawings, I wonder what would happen?

 

 

2 thoughts on “No Filter

Leave a Reply

