Partially Blind

There’s a real honesty about my blind drawings that is often missing in other stuff I do.

For this drawing, I did one version completely blind. It looked like this.

IMG_1890

I then went back over the same drawing, but this time, I allowed myself a few glances to get things more in proportion. I then coloured a little with watercolours.

I quite like the result. It looks as though I was crying (I think because of the two mouths and the uneven size of the eyes).

I wasn’t, but I have felt like it today. That’s what I mean about honesty – I didn’t intend it to look that way, but by drawing blind – and then partially blind – I seem to disable my editor and create something that gets close to the truth.

IMG_1893

One thought on “Partially Blind

Leave a Reply

