Why I Love Blind Drawing

Blind drawing never results in a good likeness, if by likeness you mean that the features are the right size and in the right place. But I’ve found that it usually produces a TRUE likeness – by which I mean that if I draw without looking at the page, I capture the essence of a person or thing.

I suppose it’s because you cut out the middle man – there’s a direct connection between your eyes and your hand. My blind drawings of anything are always much less accurate while also being infinitely more accurate.

Interesting.

I drew this portrait blind and then painted on top.

IMG_1857

Leave a Reply

