Wisdom

I found this poem today in a book I got in a second-hand bookshop. I collaged it into today’s portrait but I love it so much, I’m also typing it out for you.

We do not receive wisdom, we must discover it for ourselves, after a journey through the wilderness, which no-one else can make for us, which no-one can spare us, for our wisdom is the point of view from which we come at last to regard the world. — Marcel Proust.

IMG_1737

I approached this selfie differently than any before, in that I started with the paint and then built up layers of colour before finally adding line. The final effect is a bit of a Frankenstein’s monster but I kind of like it. I do feel as though I am constructing myself from bits and pieces that I dig up, or find lying around, so it’s quite apt.

One thought on “Wisdom

Leave a Reply

