Being Kind to Myself

I am a kind person, on the whole.

I am kind to people I care about.

If I love you, I will do anything for you. If anyone criticises you, I will defend you with the ferocity of a mother defending its newborn. If you confide a weakness or a mistake to me, I will understand and I will not judge. I don’t have to try – it just comes naturally.

I am kind to animals. I kneel down to talk to every dog I meet, because it seems rude not to. I adopt stray cats that arrive on my doorstep, even when I don’t really want them. I don’t eat meat because I think farming is akin to slavery (only worse because it always involves murder).

I am kind.

But when it comes to myself? When it comes to myself, I am brutal.

I cut myself no slack. I insult myself a hundred times a day without even knowing I’m doing it. I call myself things that I would never call another human being. If I display even the slightest weakness, or make a mistake however small, well …. all I can say is it’s not pretty inside my head.

But this year of self-portraits is all about growth. I don’t want to keep on doing the same things that have made me unhappy. And the biggest thing I want to change is this: I want to be kind to myself. I want to treat myself the way I treat my closest friends. I want to be as understanding as I would be with them. I want to be gentle with myself, the way I am with them. And I would like to be able to appreciate myself the way I appreciate them.

What if I looked at myself with the kindness and understanding I save for everyone else?

IMG_1455 (1)

7 thoughts on “Being Kind to Myself

  1. Lynn Cohen

    I love this post! Before I got to the part where you decided you wanted to change your negative to self behavior I was formulating those words to say to you! I wanted to beseech you to lighten up on yourself! Not to wait as long as I did! We can waste so much time and energy giving ourselves a hard time! Remember you are as deserving as those animals you befriend and refuse to murder! I’m so glad you are coming to this young!
    And the look on your face in this sekfie is priceless!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Louise Post author

      Thanks Lynn. Its so much easier to say than to do, but I have realized that I have spent my life believing everyone deserves to be happy except myself. Now I know that I deserve it too – but knowing it and acting on it are two different things. Wish me luck!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: The Seventh Deadly Sin | A Year of Me

Leave a Reply

